Perspective! Don’t Be Thick!

(For very mature audiences, only!)

When I was getting married, moving out of my parents’ house, looking for an apartment, my fiancée and I spoke with one potential landlord who said that we could not paint any of the rooms any color – even if we returned it to the original color before our lease would be up. When I asked why, he explained that a coat of paint was (x) mils thick. With each coat of paint, the room would get smaller and smaller. My fiancée and I looked at each other, nodded, and thanked him for his time. We silently agreed this was not the landlord we were looking for.

Forty-six years later (we got married right after college), the memory of that interview popped into my head this morning…then, drifted from rooms to apartments to rent and, to money. Our first apartment was certainly affordable with two bedrooms for $180/month. But, this is not about the cost.

Forty-six years later, my next thought was to wonder how much thinner my wallet would feel if I carried a fifty-dollar bill instead of two twenties? I stopped carrying ones, fives, tens, and pictures of the kids a while ago. And, more recently, I started carrying my wallet, more routinely, in my front pocket. My back thanked me.

Now, if only fifties were no thicker than a coat of paint…

1 Comment

  1. Dear Joel,
    Please direct me to your first apartment for $180 a month.
    Meanwhile, how dare you not carry pix of your kids, or ones, fives, and tens, in your wallet? I call small bills “Walkin’ Around Money” because they often come in handy….
    Your wallet reminds me of the old Abbott and Costello routine: “Do you have two tens for a five??” 😀😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.